Leo Dal Cortivo Award Recipients

Platform Award Winners

2016 - Jennifer Colby from Vanderbilt University in Nashville for her presentation titled "Comparison of Paired Umbilical Cord Tissue and Meconium Samples for detection of In-Utero Drug Exposure"

2015 - Karen Butler from Department of Forensic Science at Virginia Commonwealth University for her presentation titled "Presumptive Analysis of Electronic Cigarette Aerosol Using Solid-Phase Microextraction for Analysis by Gas Chromatography Mass Spectrometry (SPME-GC-MS) and Direct Analysis in Real Time AccuTOF Mass Spectrometry (SPME-DART-MS)"

2014 - Jennifer M. Colby from Department of Laboratory Medicine, University of San Francisco for her presentation titled "High Resolution Mass Spectrometry: The Comprehensive Toxicology Screen of the Future?"

2013 - Nichole Bynum from RTI International for her presentation titled "The Evaluation of Laser Diode Thermal Desorption (LDTD) for High Throughput Analysis in Forensic Science"

2012 - Brian Waters from Department of Forensic Medicine at Fukuoka University for his presentation titled "A toxicological approach to confirm the inhalation of pyrolysis products in burned cadavers using headspace solid-phase microextraction and cryogenic gas chromatography-mass spectrometry."

Poster Award Winners

2016 - Lacy Taylor from ARUP National Laboratory in Salt Lake City for her poster titled "Use of an Internal Hydrolysis Indicator for Monitoring β-Glucuronidase Activity"

2015 - Ann-Sophie Korb from Forensic Medicine and Science, University of Glasgow for her poster titled "Short-term Stability of Gamma-hydroxybutyrate (GHB) in Oral Fluid"

2014 - M. Elizabeth Zaney from Miami-Dade County Medical Examiner Department for her poster titled "Will the Real "Molly" Please Stand Up? A Comparison of MDMA and Synthetic Cathinone Deaths in Miami-Dade County, Florida."

2013 - Rachel Y. Barnett from Franklin County Coroner's Office for her poster titled "What’s Up DOC?-A Case Report."

2012 - Claire Kaspar from Cuyahoga County Medical Examiner’s Office for her poster titled "An explanation of lingering "opiate" deaths? Relative concentrations of opiates in medulla and femoral blood following lethal intoxications."

2011 - Monique A. Oles from the University of Massachusetts Memorial Department of Hospital Laboratories, Forensic Toxicology Laboratory. Her poster entitled "Evaluation of the i-STAT®1 Handheld Analyzer for Postmortem Vitreous Humor Chemistry Analysis."

2010 - James H. Watterson from the Forensic Toxicology Research Laboratory at Laurentian University for his presentation titled "Relative Distribution of Amitriptyline, Citalopram and Metabolites in Decomposed Skeletal Tissues: A Role for Parent Drug-Metabolite Ratios?"