Meeting Information

We are truly excited to be hosting SOFT 2014 in Grand Rapids, Michigan.  We believe you will find the meeting both enjoyable and productive.  Grand Rapids was named “Best Place to Raise a Family” by Forbes, thanks to numerous family-friendly events, museums, festivals and other points of interest. Points of interest include the Gerald R. Ford presidential museum and the Van Andel museum both across the river from the meeting hotel.  Also of interest would be various art museums, the Frederik Meijer Garden and Sculptor Park, as well as over 80 pubs and restaurants within walking distance of the meeting hotel.

This year’s SOFT “fun” theme will revolve around BEER, a topic that most forensic toxicologists have both a personal and professional interest.  Grand Rapids is well known for its many microbrews, and has been dubbed “Beer City USA”.  It is home to the “Second Best Brewery in the World” and the “Third Best Beer Bar on Earth”.  One of our promotional items for this meeting is a credit card sized beer bottle opener.  We are planning on having a brew bottled just for our SOFT members complete with a unique SOFT beer label. 

The meeting hotel is world class.  The indoor walk to the exhibit hall is relatively short and very scenic with what will be autumn views of the Grand River.  Finally, exhibitors will appreciate the ease in setting up their exhibits, the exhibitor hall is spacious, while the loading docks are in close proximity to the exhibit hall.

We look forward to seeing all of you in Grand Rapids next October.

Ben and Mike

SOFT 2014 Planning Committee Members

Meeting Hosts:

Ben Kuslikis
Mike Smith

Scientific Program:

Laureen Marinetti
Michele Glinn

Workshop Chairs:

Erin Spargo
Denice Teem


Marc LeBeau

Exhibitor Liaison:

Jarrad Wagner


Jayne Thatcher


Bonnie Fulmer

Audio Visual:

Frank Wallace

Website Coordinator:

Russell Lewis

Volunteer Coordinator:

Prentiss Jones

Karla Moore 5k Fun Run:

Vincent Papa

Sunshine/Rieders Silent Auction:

Elizabeth Kiely