The SOFT Awards Committee is requesting applications for the Educational Research Award (ERA) and the Young Scientist Meeting Award (YSMA). These awards recognize students and young scientists performing outstanding forensic toxicology research. Awardees will present their findings at the annual meeting. Each award consists of a basic meeting registration and a $2,000 stipend to be used to cover the cost of travel expenses.


ERA: Applicants for the award must be enrolled in a Master's, Pre-Doctoral, Post-Doctoral or Medical Residency academic program and performing research related to forensic toxicology.

YSMA: Applicants must be bench level scientists (B.S., M.S., or Ph.D.) with 5 years or less experience in the field of forensic toxicology and complete a research project related to forensic toxicology.

To apply:

Follow the links below (ERA and YMSA Award information) for instructions on the application process. Application materials must be received by the Committee Chair no later than Friday April 7th. Awardees will be notified by June 1st. Applications and questions regarding the application process should be directed to the SOFT Awards Committee Chair, Erin Spargo, at

Activities of the Awards Committee

The educational award sponsored by SOFT was conceived in 1978 by Dr. Vincent Lynch of Saint John's University. The aim of the Society was to encourage academic training and research in areas related to forensic toxicology. The award was approved by the Board of Directors in December 1978 and the first award, funded by a grant from Hoffman LaRoche, was made in 1980.

During the 1978 meeting, the Board also established a committee to review applications and make recommendations for awardees.

In 2002, the Board of Directors approved the establishment of the Young Scientist Meeting Award (YSMA). This award is designed to recognize bench level scientists working in the field of forensic toxicology. The first YSMA was awarded at the 2003 SOFT meeting in Portland, Oregon. The Awards committee will review the applications and make recommendations for the award recipients.

Members of the 2017 Awards Committee

Erin Spargo, Ph.D. (chair)

Betsy Spratt, M.S.

Dani Mata, M.S.

Russell Lewis, Ph.D.

Sabra Botch-Jones, M.S., M.A.

Robert Johnson, Ph.D. (2017 Scientific Program Co-Chair)

Robert Kronstrand, Ph.D. (2017 Scientific Program Co-Chair)

More information and the application for the ERA award.

More information and the application for the YSMA award.